Toyota A6 Blacktop
Hi All

I have just been told of this forum and I must say, what a welcome relief to have a forum dedicated to what we are passionate about with no hidden agendas.

I have been building my Locost for what will be two years in July. I won't bore you with all the details of the build, I have created a blog for that.

What I would like to know is what exactly went into the Toyota 20v Blacktop A6 spec motors that you guys in the B class used to run in 2005/6? I bought my motor from AJ on the premise that it has approximately 10 - 15% more umph than the stock motor. Is this correct?

If you get a gap, have a look at my build at: http://philsvelocity.wordpress.com

Cheers,
Phil
A6 mods are all done on the cylinder head and cams. The only mod to the bottom end was the pocketing of piston crowns to clear the valves due to the increased valve lift. Cam specs 305 deg duration and increase in lift on both cams ( Can't remember the actual numbers ) Cylinder skimmed and compression raised. Head was flowed. Exhaust pulley was changed to a vernier pulley to be able to set cam timing. Intake pulley was also modified to restrict the VVT movement. VVT was disconnected. That's about it.
Power increase of +- 15% sound about right. Max power and torque much higher in the rev range and narrow power band compared to stock motor. Due to this gear ratio's becomes an issue. We also raced on race fuel only due to the high compression, although I'm told you can use pump fuel but will have to alter the ignition timing.
Thank you Derek for a very comprehensive answer.

As far as the power goes, AJ said he was getting around 99kw with his GoTech (I think), I have a MicroTech which I imagine/hope will squeeze a bit more out. The more horses the merrier I say, especially because the poor car has to lug my frame around.

As a matter of interest, if I were to sell the motor (excl. GB), what do you reckon I could get for it?

Cheers and thanks again,
Phil